Do What I Say 101

When I started my freelancing practice, I had to trek 4 miles in the snow and across a frozen river just to get the mail. If a storm came through, I had no internet for days. When I started my freelancing practice, I would read my law books by candlelight, huddled next to the wood stove so that I wouldn’t freeze to death.

Hey, wait a minute…  That’s all true.

But none of those were the hardest part about starting up my freelance practice. The hardest part was not knowing what the heck I was doing! I wasn’t in a position to pay a consultant to tell me how to make it happen, and there was next to no information on the internet about freelance lawyering. The few people that were doing it seemed hush-hush and didn’t want to tell the world how they did it, or only wanted to tell them for money. And the only book on contract lawyering, which isn’t even entirely on point, was written on papyrus it’s so old.

I plodded along anyway, and learned my lessons (sometimes the hard way), and I’ve been freelance lawyering for a couple years now.  I have done it on both a full time and part time basis, depending on what other work and projects I have going on.  Freelancing has given me continuity to my work despite my “hot feet” (I like to move around), and the hours aren’t bad at all.

But with the serious lack of substantive information on running a freelance practice, what’s a new freelance lawyer to do?Drumroll, please.

Well, take MY Freelance Lawyering course at Solo Practice University, of course!

I’m sorry for having kept secrets from you; it tore me up inside, really. But today’s announcement day, and I’ve been announced! I’ll be teaching two courses at SPU, Freelancing Lawyering as well as Cultural Property Law. Super exciting!

SPU is an online legal education and resource forum started by Susan Cartier Liebel.  The website succinctly and correctly states, “Solo Practice University is the #1 educational and professional networking community for lawyers and law students, designed by lawyers for lawyers and dedicated to helping you build your very own solo practice.”

Here is the course description from the Freelance Lawyering syllabus:

This course is for lawyers who want to work for other lawyers on a temporary, freelance basis. The benefits of this kind of arrangement are numerous: you can keep a flexible schedule, you can run a business with little to no overhead, and you can take as little or as much work as you want. There is, however, a shroud of mystery around how freelance operations work. Freelance Lawyering provides practical advice on building and running a freelance lawyering business. Topics covered include rate-setting, billing methods, ethical considerations, client relations, overcoming stigmas, and keeping yourself marketable. Taught in 6 one-hour classes.

So I am super excited to have this opportunity, and to teach alongside some other lawyers who are simply amazing.  And I hope to see some of you in the course!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

